Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) 

Headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) is a regional interstate compact established to advance cooperation and resource sharing in higher education. The member states of the Compact are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. The non-profit organization is one of four regional compacts in the United States dedicated to advancing higher education.

The compact focuses on initiatives in cost savings, student access, and policy research. In these areas, MHEC attempts to reduce administrative costs, encourage student access, facilitate public policy analysis and information analysis, increase regional academic cooperation, promote educational programs, and encourage innovation in the field of higher education.

MHEC conducts research and convenings to generate ideas and policy that improve the quality, accessibility, and affordability of postsecondary education.


Have something to add or refine? Your input in this work matters greatly and we look forward to reviewing your additions.

Request an Edit

Make a Submission

To provide feedback, suggest edits, or request new content.

Make a Submission