State University System of New York - SUNY

The State University System of New York (SUNY) is the largest integrated system of public higher education in the U.S. SUNY is comprised of 64 institutions, including research universities, academic medical centers, liberal arts colleges, community colleges, colleges of technology, and an online learning network.  SUNY serves nearly 1.3 million students in credit-bearing courses and programs and through continuing education and community outreach programs.

In 2018, SUNY adopted a broad microcredential policy following recommendations of a Micro-Credentialing Task Force created in 2015. Through a collaborative process and endorsed by SUNY Trustees, SUNY defined microcredentials to ensure that their rigor and quality match those of every type of credential that SUNY offers. SUNY also established a taxonomy of terms related to microcredentials.

SUNY's policy framework supports microcredentials that:

  • motivate current students to persist
  • provide a pathway to (or back to) higher education
  • foster individualized learning
  • allow students to distinguish themselves in a competitive marketplace
  • support life-long learning and professional development.

SUNY policy requires that a SUNY microcredential is:

  • Competency based
  • Endorsed by the issuing campus
  • Developed through faculty governance
  • Meaningful and of high quality

Since development of the SUNY microcredentials policy, SUNY campuses have developed more than 525 microcredentials at about half of its campuses (both community colleges and universities).

SUNY has developed a common website to list microcredentials available at its campuses at: Search Microcredentials at SUNY - SUNY .


Request an Edit

Have something to add or refine? Your input in this work matters greatly and we look forward to reviewing your additions.

Organizations (277)

Initiatives (310)

Topics (95)

Skip to content