Interstate Regional Higher Education Compacts

Last Updated 04/07/2024

Four higher education interstate compacts in the United States facilitate cooperation among their member states to address common challenges, leverage resources, and improve educational opportunities for students within their respective regions. The compacts are nonpartisan, non-profit organizations that were established in 1948, Southern Regional Education Board (SREB); 1953, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE); 1955, New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE); and 1991, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC). Established by either Congress or by agreements among the states themselves, the compacts together represent 47 states and territories and 6 state affiliate partners.

Request an Edit

Have something to add or refine? Your input in this work matters greatly and we look forward to reviewing your additions

Organizations (275)

Initiatives (309)

Topics (93)

Skip to content